Home Public Affairs President Trump to nominate new Supreme Court justice

President Trump to nominate new Supreme Court justice

supreme court justices

The Supreme Court of the United States, referred to as SCOTUS, consists of one chief justice and eight associate justices. With Justice Anthony Kennedy announcing his retirement effective July 31, 2018, President Trump will now nominate his replacement, to be confirmed by the Senate.

Here’s the current makeup of the SCOTUS:

• John Roberts and Samuel Alito appointed by George W. Bush.

• Anthony Kennedy, appointed by Ronald Reagan.

• Clarence Thomas, appointed by George H.W. Bush.

• Ruth Bader Ginsburg and Stephen Breyer, appointed by Bill Clinton.

• Sonia Sotomayor and Elena Kagan, appointed by Barack Obama.

• Neil Gorsuch, appointed by Donald Trump.

Christina Johnson, On 3 Public Relations

You may also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

The Tallahassee 100