On July 1, a number of new laws will take effect in Florida. While not every law affects every Floridian, one particular law could have a big impact for all of Florida’s 21 million residents.
Beginning July 1, police officers may stop and ticket motorists who are texting while operating a moving vehicle. Texting is still allowed at stoplights. Fines begin at $30 for a first offense and rise to $60 for a second.
While the law doesn’t go into effect until July 1, now is as good a time as any to put the phone down while you’re driving.